Online Nurse-Midwifery » Schools » ​Old Dominion University – Online Master of Science in Nursing – Nurse Midwifery
Old Dominion University – Online Master of Science in Nursing – Nurse Midwifery2018-09-25T17:39:05+00:00

Old Dominion University – Online Master of Science in Nursing – Nurse Midwifery

Program Overview

According to Old Dominion University:

“The MSN with specialization in nurse midwifery is offered jointly with Shenandoah University in northern Virginia. All ODU courses for this program, are online, distant learning courses. The program includes advanced practice nursing content offered by Old Dominion University in the Hampton Roads region and at distance sites in Virginia during the first year. The second year in the midwifery program is offered through Shenandoah University. Upon completion of the first year of courses at ODU the MSN degree will be awarded followed by completion of the post masters portion of the program at SU. A Post-Master’s Certificate in Nurse-Midwifery will be awarded by SU. Students may continue on to the DNP Postmaster’s Advanced Practice program with ODU. Students will be eligible to take the national nurse-midwifery certification examination offered by the American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB) to become a Certified Nurse-Midwife after completion of the MSN portion of the program, if not continuing on to the DNP.”

At a Glance


Total credit hours

47 credit hours

Tuition per credit                 

Tuition and fees

Practicum, internship and/or on-campus intensive

675 practicum hours


ODU School of Nursing is fully accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE). The Shenandoah University Nurse-Midwifery Program is fully accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Midwifery Education (ACME) of the American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM).



Admission requirements

According to Old Dominion University, applications will be accepted from prospective students who are graduates of any Commission on Collegiate Nurse Education (CCNE) or Accrediting Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN, formerly NLNAC) accredited nursing program. However, priority for admissions will be given to qualified applicants whose degrees were conferred by institutions with regional accreditation (i.e. SACS).